Loan Originators, Brokers & Lenders
Getting your Florida Loan Originator license will require 20 hours of a NMLS approved course. The student will be tested on both Florida law and National law. To begin the process please check out the two links below and then check out our class schedule near the bottom of this page.
Two Main Types of Licenses
LO: Loan Originator
This license is required for an individual who, directly or indirectly, solicits or offers to solicit a mortgage loan, accepts or offers to accept an application for a mortgage loan, negotiates or offers to negotiate the terms or conditions of a new or existing mortgage loan on behalf of a borrower or lender, processes a mortgage loan application, or negotiates or offers to negotiate the sale of an existing mortgage loan to a noninstitutional investor for compensation or gain. The term includes the activities of a loan originator as defined by the federal S.A.F.E. Act.
MBR: Mortgage Broker
This license is required for an entity conducting loan originator activities through one or more licensed loan originators employed by the mortgage broker or as independent contractors to the mortgage broker.
Steps to Become a MLO
- Apply to the NMLS for your Unique ID number
- Complete 20 hours of NMLS approved pre-license education
- Apply for licensure and pay the applicable fees through the NMLS website
- Take our Prep Class to prepare you for both the National and State Exams
- Pass the NMLS National exam
- Pass the Florida state law exam
National Residential Mortgage Loan Originator: SAFE Act Comprehensive Education, 1st Edition
This comprehensive guide is an excellent resource for mastering the modern mortgage principles and practices essential to understanding the financing of residential real estate as generally applied to all states. The mortgage industry has gone through a major transition in recent years changing from a sales environment to a professional one. As a result, the mortgage professional today must be more knowledgeable and ethical in meeting the financial needs of consumers. This NMLS-approved course is designed to help mortgage professional's master the 20-hour SAFE Act pre-licensing requirements for mortgage loan originators. The content includes 3 hours of federal law, 3 hours of ethics, 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage products, and 12 hours of elective topics to form the building blocks of mortgage loan origination principles and practices. Major concepts are reinforced through learning objectives, extensive examples, chapter summaries, review questions, critical thinking questions and key term reviews. Use the online interactive flashcards to review key terms and concepts. Also, updates are posted at www.cengage.com/realestate/mortgage to keep the mortgage professional up-to-date on new rules and regulations.
Schedule of Classes:
Loan Originator Pre-License Schedule (20 hrs) $299
|Start Date||End Date||Term||Time|
|January 4||January 6||1 weekend||Fri-6-10pm, Sat-Sun 8-6pm|
|April 5||April 7||1 weekend||Fri-6-10pm, Sat-Sun 8-6pm|
|May 31||June 2||1 weekend||Fri-6-10pm, Sat-Sun 8-6pm|
|September 6||September 8||1 weekend||Fri-6-10pm, Sat-Sun 8-6pm|
|December 6||December 8||1 weekend||Fri-6-10pm, Sat-Sun 8-6pm|
To register for this class, please click on the register now button below. You will be taken to PayPal, a secure website payment processing site where you can pay with a credit card or use your PayPal account if you currently have one. Once on the payment page, using the box for special instructions to seller, please specify the start date of the class you prefer. Click on the PayPal logo below to view information about PayPal.
If you prefer, you can contact the school at 772-323-2011 and register by phone.